Link Love #5

A few of my favorite subjects turn up as themes for my link love today: food, handstands, and mindset. Let’s get into it!


I’ve pinned lots of yummy things lately, including three from new-to-me blog How Sweet it Is. At least a couple of these will help me fulfill my “eat more plants” Clutch List item.

My Clutch List for the inaugural round.

My Clutch List.

I might even attempt making her garlic bread pizza crust, though I’ve never made crust (or non-sweet bread) before. This just looks divine and decadent, yet satisfying.

Never would it have occurred to me to put Brussels sprouts in a veggie burger, but it sounds absolutely fantastic.

I’m a sucker for anything “buffalo” style. This soup pretty much sums up spicy and inviting.

While we’re on the subject of soup, this one from Iowa Girl Eats seems so simple to make, not to mention a delicious comfort food staple. Her recipes always make me drool.

Yes, please. I think I’ll make a salted caramel version, because yum.


Moving daily is also on my Clutch List, and I’ve been wanting to incorporate handstand training again as I start to get stronger post-recovery. It may not be a coincidence that this year’s NaNoWriMo novel (which is still on track, at least word count wise) is called Holding Handstands and that the main character is also pursuing a handstand practice.

I just discovered this awesome article with a step-by-step approach to overcoming fear and conquering handstands. The cute Star Wars toys are an added bonus.


These posts really got me thinking. I hope you enjoy them!

I love Zen Barbell, and I love the pursuit of acceptance (self and otherwise). In this post, she writes: “Love and accept who you are RIGHT NOW in this moment (even if you are bloated, dirty, having a bad hair day, your jeans don’t fit well, cranky or whatever!). You are so worthy of your love and acceptance.  It is from THAT beautiful space that transformation can really take place.  <3″

I could not agree more!

I had never heard of Lauren Fleshman until someone shared this post with me. I was instantly enamored of her honest approach and her awesome willingness to show the reality behind her photo shoot physique. “Nobody is perfect,” indeed. The sooner we truly realize this, the better we’ll be able to achieve the aforementioned self-acceptance, stop comparing ourselves to others, and live our lives with joy, vitality, and loving kindness.


8 thoughts on “Link Love #5

      • I need to make more time for movement in general. I just bought a Walk Away the Pounds DVD! It’s so cold out, and I’m just not feeling the outdoor thing, but I’m also feeling a bit leery of jumping too fast back into kettlebell training and other intensive activities after surgery. So I figured the WATP can gear me back up. Did it this a.m. and it was fun… and felt GREAT to have some morning activity!

  1. I’m trying to teach myself to play the guitar! My dad bought me one when I was in high school, and I never fully learned. I just know a couple tunes. I need to work on that more diligently. That and yoga. There’s my clutch list! Haha

Leave a Reply

