Sweet Greens

Green smoothie in my extra tall tumbler.

Green smoothie in my extra tall tumbler.

I almost always follow the same “recipe” when I have a smoothie, which is about once a week, give or take. I like variety, but this is just so good that I haven’t deviated from it much.

It’s simple, filling, and delicious (although depending on your tastes, you might like to add a bit of honey, maple syrup, or sugar; the only sweeteners here, besides the banana, are the small amounts present in the coconut milk and protein powder). Here’s how I make it:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Silk Original Coconut milk
  • 1 banana, sliced and frozen
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (optional)
  • 1/2-1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I use Olympian Labs Pea Protein)
  • 3-4 generous handfuls frozen baby spinach*
  • cold water as needed to blend

Method:

Put coconut milk, banana, chia seeds, and protein powder in blender. Add frozen baby spinach to loosely fill blender cup. Put lid on and blend on grind or puree setting; remove center piece of lid and use a spatula to push spinach down, adding small amounts of water as needed. Once all the ingredients are incorporated, blend on liquefy and/or frappe for 2-3 minutes. Pour into tumbler and enjoy!

***

I can hardly taste the spinach, and it’s such a nutritional powerhouse! Plus, it turns my smoothie such a lovely hue.

I’ve not tried kale in a smoothie, although I know people do.  Like Angela, many people also use more veggies/fruits and/or omit the banana. Yogurt is a popular thickener, as are oats (raw, soaked, or cooked — I add soaked or cooked oats to my smoothie once in a while, but raw makes it a little too powdery/chalky in texture for my liking).

Once in a while I change things up a bit, or try a new recipe. But for the most part, I stick with my tried and true favorite. What’s your preferred smoothie recipe? Have you tried adding greens? What about chia seeds… have you checked these little wonders out yet?

*I buy organic baby spinach and freeze it when it reaches its use-by date. I put it in freezer bags, press out the air, and toss in the freezer. This is optional, and the smoothie is just as good with fresh baby spinach. I just like to avoid waste and I think the frozen spinach gives a slightly better texture to the drink. Some people use boxed or bagged spinach that comes pre-frozen, too.

0 thoughts on “Sweet Greens

  1. Pingback: Savory Oats « Wild Blue Wonder

Leave a Reply

