Sweet Nectarine Oats

Nectarine Overnight Oats

I couldn’t find any good blueberries this weekend. I didn’t shop until late on Sunday, and every single container had a visible spot of fuzzy white mold somewhere within. I glanced around the produce section, wondering what I could put in my overnight oats instead. When I saw some lovely nectarines, I realized I hadn’t had any good ones yet this summer. They sounded like a good way to shake up my morning routine.

I tend to eat the same breakfast (M-F, anyway) for weeks on end until I finally get bored, then I shift gears and do it all again. It’s usually some variation on oats, which I find filling and yummy. (I do keep meaning to branch out into other grains; buckwheat is in my cupboard for that very purpose, and breakfast style quinoa is on my list as well. I’ve already been using it to add fiber and texture to my lunch salads.)

In cooler months, I either cook my oats in water, then top with cottage cheese and fruit, or I mix raw oats with canned pumpkin, liquid egg whites, and a bit of baking powder, and have microwave “baked” oats. Once in a while I even get ambitious and make real baked oats on Sunday to eat during the week. (Chia seeds are a staple in all of the above, as well as in my green smoothies).

But, as I wrote last month, lately I’ve been all about the overnight oats. They’re easy, delicious, and rather refreshing on these steamy summer mornings. And I’ve been making them pretty much exactly the same way ever since I shared that post.

Now, after enjoying my newest breakfast for a few days, I confess I’m thrilled that there were no good blueberries to be found! I mean, I do love them. In fact, they’re my favorite berry; I like them fresh or frozen, and I know they pack a nutritious punch.

But these nectarine overnight oats are simply divine. This sweet, creamy bowlful is even better than my apple-blueberry overnight oats.

Thanks to Tonya at Nom Eat Nom for being so adventurous with her overnight oats and other delicious eats; she helped inspire me to try something a little different, when I might have been inclined to scoot over to the freezer section for a bag of frosty blueberries and stayed stuck in last month’s breakfast routine a little longer.

My taste buds are jumping for joy.

Nectarine Overnight Oats

  • 1/2 cup rolled or quick oats
  • 1/2 scoop Olympian Labs vanilla pea protein powder (or other protein powder; optional)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • dash cinnamon, to taste (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract (optional, but SO good)
  • 1/2 cup Silk original Coconut Milk
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • ripe nectarine, diced (I left the skin on)

Mix all ingredients but the nectarine thoroughly and let soak in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour, or overnight. Add a bit of water or almond milk, if needed, and stir to reach desired consistency. Top with nectarine.

I love oats, clearly. But I do still want to try out those other grains and give my morning meals even more of a makeover. I’d also like to try out some savory oat recipes, and not necessarily just for breakfast!

Do you like oats? What’s your favorite way to eat them?

0 thoughts on “Sweet Nectarine Oats

  1. Sounds delicious! For some reason I only rarely eat nectarines, but the Midwest is bursting with peaches this time of year, which would be great in this too. I’ve never tried that brand of protein powder; is it any good?

    • Yes, peaches would be awesome as well! They looked so good, too. I might try those next week.

      I really like the Olympian Labs pea protein, enough to order another canister before mine was even close to gone. It’s got a decent texture (doesn’t completely vanish in the overnight oats but it’s fairly subtle, not excessively gritty) and a nice, mild flavor. It’s excellent for green smoothies.

      I’d been using whey protein but I wanted an alternative because I feel like I get more than enough dairy in other ways and don’t want to overdo it. I’ve heard great things about other vegan proteins but this was the first one I tried, and it’s really good and affordable. I get it on Swanson.com. Let me know if you end up trying it!

    • Thanks, Melissa! Let me know if you try them! I’ve since discovered that they’re equally delicious with peaches, and that mixing in just a bit of real almond extract (maybe 1/8 tsp) really plays up the peach or nectarine flavor well.

  2. Pingback: Savory Oats « Wild Blue Wonder

    • Thanks, Andie! The chia seeds really give a great texture to overnight oats soaked in milk rather than yogurt. I also put chia seeds in my green smoothies. Love them! I can’t wait to hear what you think. :D

  3. Pingback: Kind of Sweet | Wild Blue Wonder

  4. Pingback: “Baked” Pumpkin Oats | Wild Blue Wonder

Leave a Reply

